GYM 101: Getting Comfortable in the Gym, Part 1

There is a reason that the weight room is primarily men.  Many women don’t feel comfortable in there for whatever reason.  I have heard reasons such as feeling intimidated, not knowing proper forms, and not wanting to look stupid in front of the regulars.  I was one of you when I first started going into the weight room.  I was just as scared and intimidated. But, I figured out ways to be confident and  to own that place.  For the next week, I am going to talk about how you can feel confident too.

Step One: Find a Training Plan

I think the number one response I got when I asked friends and family why they do not workout with weights is not knowing what to do and how to do it.  There is no doubt that a lack of knowledge would make the gym a very intimidating place.

When I first started working out in the gym I had my husband as my training partner and he knew at least some more about it than I did.  I followed his lead.  Then his work schedule changed and I found myself alone in the gym and very lost.  I knew that I couldn’t go into the gym every day confused and that I needed a training partner even if only on paper.

I set out to find a training plan.  I needed something that would tell me what to do, how to do it, and when to do it on every training day. I settled on Jamie Eason’s LiveFit Trainer on Bodybuilding.com .  It is a twelve week program broken up into three phases.  Month one is straight lifting without any cardio in order to build muscle.  Month two is more lifting with the addition of steady state cardio.  Month three brings it all together by adding HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training) training into the mix.

I learned so much from following this program.  I learned how to perform all the movements and how they work.  I learned how workouts are put together and why. But, the biggest thing I learned was confidence in the gym.  Now I am just as comfortable going in there all by myself as I am with a training partner.  I will be forever grateful to Ms. Eason for that.

I do highly recommend the LiveFit Trainer but there are other workout programs out there that you can use.  I just strongly suggest that you commit to see the program all the way through to the end.

Here are a few other programs you could consider:

The Sweaty Betties 12 week “Progressive” Lifting Program

Muscle and Strength 12 Week Beginners Training Routine

Lee Labrada’s 12 Week Lean Body Daily Trainer

There are tons of options on the internet or in books you can ind at your local library or bookstore.  Find what you think will work for you and stick to it.  See it to the end and you will be more confident. I promise.

Good Luck!!  Let me know if you what program you choose!!

GYM 101: Getting Comfortable in the Gym, Part 1

Leave a Reply

