Diet Shakes and Meal Replacements

Let’s talk a few minutes about something so prevelant in fitness and weight loss circles.

Shakes

Smoothies

Diet Drinks

Body by Vi

Shakeology

SlimFast (Oldie but Goodie)

Advocare

(Note: None of these brands are bad. I am not bad-mouthing any of them.  There is a time and a place for any and all of them.)

I have lost count the number of times I have heard,

“I’ve got to lose these last ten pounds.  What do you think of Body by Vi? Shakeology? Etc. Etc.” Or….

“I’m replacing breakfast and/or lunch with a shake to lose this blasted weight!”

Aargh!!

Let me tell you what I think….

I do not like  when someone starts replacing meals with shakes or smoothies in an effort to lose weight.

But, why?  It is so effective!

True.  Replacing one or two meals a day with a delicious shake is an effective way to control your caloric intake for the day and ultimately lose weight.

Let’s say you go on a  “shake diet” for a certain number of weeks.  You reach your weight loss goal.  Good Job!!

What happens next?

Will you continue to drink those shakes as you enter maintenance mode?  Or will you stop drinking them all together?

Are you ready to stop drinking those shakes?  What will you eat instead?

Oh, there’s the rub.  I don’t like diet shakes because the person drinking them often times does not know how to eat to lose weight or keep weight off without them.

How often have you known someone who was successful on a “shake diet” only to gain the pounds right back after stopping the shakes?

I believe it is a much better deal to take longer to achieve your goals and to learn how to eat and exercise without the crutch of a shake or magic pill.  That is more sustainable.  That is true knowledge.

It is cheaper too. 🙂

All that being said.  Do I drink shakes?

I sure do.  I always have protein powder in my house.  I drink a couple scoops of protein powder after every workout.  Some mornings I will make hearty breakfast smoothie or sometimes I’ll drink one in the afternoon as my mid-afternoon meal.

It is part of a plan.  I drink them because they are available not as a necessity. I could continue on with my plan if the shakes were removed from the plan or the protein powder was no longer available.

The key to true weight loss and change is to empower yourself with knowledge of how to eat, what to eat, and the best workout program for you.

Do yourself a favor.  Take your time gaining the knowledge and you will set up for life for living a sustainable, healthy lifestyle.

Do not take the easy route through the use of shakes as meal replacements.

Diet Shakes and Meal Replacements

Leave a Reply

