Teaching Our Children to Dream Big

running

Yesterday, I talked about being careful about what we say around our children so that we break the curse of bad body image.

Today I want to talk about teaching the same children that they can indeed do anything they put their minds to.

What brings on this topic?

Well, I was watching this video last Saturday.



I am a big fan of ultra-marathons and especially the Western States 100 Mile Endurance Run in June every year. The video features Timothy Olson who set the course record in 2012 and then came back in 2013 for another amazing win.

I am always amazed (AMAZED) by ultra-athletes so I enjoy watching videos of their achievements.

Anyway, I was watching the video and my son came up to me and said, “WOW!! A Hundred Miles?!?! I could NEVER do that!!”

That statement hit me right in the heart. BOOM!

I turned to him and I said, “Son, you can do whatever you want to do.”

“Do you think he could run 100 miles at first??”

“Well, No.”

“That’s right. One day he ran one mile and the next day maybe two. He worked hard and then one day he ran 100 miles.”

“Hmmmmmmm.”

“With the proper training and super foods you can do whatever you want to do. You just have tell your body what to do and then be smart about it.”

“Really?”

“Yes. So, if you want to run 100 miles someday your Mom will be right there to cheer you on.”

“Wow!”

That conversation made me think for awhile.

What can I do to teach my son that he can INDEED to whatever he wants to do?

Run 100 miles? Why not…

Compete in a Full-Ironman Triathlon? Go for it.

Swim the English Channel? Better start working on your laps….

All I know is that I want to demonstrate to my son he CAN do it.

I do have my own transformation story and I am still adding to that story. Maybe someday I can tell him that story in words.

I just hope that he SEES me working hard each day to reach my goals. I hope that he sees me making exercise a priority. I hope he sees me choosing to each a salad for lunch instead of a hamburger.

Gosh! I pray that I am making a difference.

What are your thoughts? How can we show our children that the sky is the limit?

Comment here or come on over to my Facebook page and join the conversation. 🙂

Teaching Our Children to Dream Big

Leave a Reply

