Why YES I Can Carry My Husband Out of a Burning Building

A week ago I challenged myself to see if I could carry my husband out of a burning building. I was inspired by the people over at FiveX3 Training and their post on the same topic.

I train 4-6 days a week in the gym for strength gains and overall fitness. But, I often ask myself how would that translate to real-world strength and ability. If put into a situation could I tap into all that training and actually do something with it? That is why this challenge was so perfect for me. Heaven Forbid, my husband is injured and can’t get himself out of a precarious situation. Could I actually CARRY him out? I had to know. The good thing about a desperate situation is that adrenaline would probably be pumping like crazy and that would help a lot.



We did this experiment on a somewhat lazy Sunday afternoon. Our seven year old son was our self-appointed director and the peanut gallery (a.k.a. the dog) had to be closed up in a bathroom because she was barking too much and took all this commotion as a reason to play.

There were several practice sessions and several filming sessions. I give my husband tons of credit for allowing me to flop him all over the place for quite awhile. He was dropped a few times, poked, and bruised. That man must really love me or at least wants to survive a burning blaze. 😉 I offered to let him practice on me but he responded with, “No Honey. I would just drag you out of the building. ” Indeed.

I had planned for this workout challenge to take longer than it did. I guess I need to think of a new way to challenge myself.

In the meantime, I would LOVE to hear back from YOU!!

Could you carry your husband out of a burning building???? Or would you just drag him?

How does your training translate to real-world scenerios??

Why YES I Can Carry My Husband Out of a Burning Building

3 thoughts on “Why YES I Can Carry My Husband Out of a Burning Building

  1. Awesome!!!!! I am SOOOOOO happy that you took the challenge and videoed it and shared it! Way to go Sarah!!! 😉 Fantastic! I wish more people would take the challenge…..I am still on it! 😉

    Like

    1. Sarah says:

      Emily,

      YEAH!! So happy you saw this!!! I LOVED your video and was totally inspired by it. I have ‘liked’ your Facebook page and I am always amazed at what you are doing with women and strength. I hope I can inspire women as a trainer like you do to seek strength and power in their lives. 🙂 Thanks for commenting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

