What I am Reading Lately…

I am a big reader if you haven’t figured that out lately. I love my books and I love my on-line articles. So, I thought I would bookmark articles I particularly liked and would share the links when I had enough collected to share with you.

 

Strong Vs Toned: The Truth About Gender-Specific Workouts

 

There is a lot of information, some true and much false, about how men and women should train differently. I strongly support women training like men and in that process obtaining the tight body they always wanted. Women should lift weights and women should lift heavy weights. Women should train with the same intensity as men.

However, it is still an undeniable truth that men and women have different shaped bodies and because of that there are specific needs. This article goes into more detail of these differences and what we can utilize that information in our own training.

 

Change Only 1 Habit and Lose Weight

 

This article was written by John Beradi of Precision Nutrition, my favorite nutrition information resource. John Beradi has been coaching people in nutrition for years and has quite a bit of experience under his belt. Over the years he has taken note of certain behaviors that are evident in his successful clients.

In this article he talks about the top eight habits. Pick one habit you have not developed and start working on it.

This is good stuff. Bookmark this article and keep going back to it. There is a lot of wisdom here.

 

How Weight Loss Makes You Fatter

 

Oh yes, Weight Loss. That is such a HUGE topic in America these days. It is also a HUGE market for those who offer weight loss products.

This article is rather eye-opening and it also makes perfect sense. All this ‘weight loss’ is making us FAT!

Two quotes…

“But what we might not realize is that yo-yo dieting actually makes us fatter in the long run, even if our weight always bounces back to its typical set point.”

“Cyclical weight loss and then gain over years leads to a relatively fatter physique and a less responsive metabolism. Ugh.”


This article goes into more detail how constant dieting actually does more damage to our bodies than good. But, that the author does not leave you there. She then provides a simple solution.

Read this!

A Lion in Iron: Strength Doesn’t Have a Gender


I LOVE this article. I love it so much that I have web-clipped it into my Evernote app so that I can go back to it whenever I want and wherever I am.
(Note: There is some inappropriate language in this article. I am sorry about that but 99% of this article is spot on.)

Here is a quote that sums up this article…

“Strength is mental. Strength is getting comfortable with being uncomfortable. That’s a choice. That isn’t a gender”


There you have it.

I believe with all my heart that women are STRONG. By throwing away the scales and society-generated body images and training for strength, women can find the strength and confidence that was there all along. It just had to be uncovered.

Good stuff right here, folks. 🙂

HAPPY READING!!!

If there are any articles that you love please share in the comments.  I am always looking for awesome reading material!! 🙂

What I am Reading Lately…

Leave a Reply

