The Virgin Diet and Why I am Doing it

I am not a big fan of the word ‘diet’.

AT ALL….

My dream would be for women (and men) to forget about being on diets and just focus on eating healthy, whole, real foods and exercising. That’s why when I am talking to people I don’t ever say I am on a diet. I always say I am focusing on eating healthy, real foods instead.

I don’t like diet fads even more. They prey on those people who are desperate for a change and the promise of quick results is very tempting. I remember my Dad saying a long time ago that there is nothing more faddish than nutrition. So very true. From low-fat to Atkins to Plant-Based to Paleo to Sugar Busters to whatever you want to call it. There will always be a bandwagon and people to jump on them.

With all that to say I am hesitant to admit that I am adopting a ‘diet’ on Monday. Ha! Don’t all diets start on Monday?!?!?!

 

I am starting The Virgin Diet.


My motivation to start this diet is not for the ‘seven pounds in seven days’ even though that would be nice. I am more patient than that.

Let me explain what The Virgin Diet is basically. It is an “elimination diet.” That means that you eliminate the seven most common food allergens from your diet for three weeks. You then reintroduce them one at a time (1 week each) to test your tolerance. If your body reacts you know you are intolerant of that food and should probably keep it out.

The allergens are…

Gluten
Dairy
Eggs
Soy
Corn
Sugar
Peanuts

So, I will take all seven out of my diet for three weeks. And then in the fourth week I will pick one from the list and reintroduce it to my diet and see how my body reacts to it. Then the next week I will reintroduce the next one and see how my body reacts and so on. Reactions can be pain, bloating, ‘brain fog’, sinus issues, etc.

Why am I doing this drastic ‘diet?’

 

1) I have awful knee pain. I’ve had it since I was a teenager and it is only getting worse as I get older. It really affects my training and my everyday life. I am 34 and feel like I am in my 60’s sometimes. It is my understanding that if you do have a food intolerance it can exhibit itself in joint inflammation and pain. If you pinpoint the intolerance and eliminate it the pain can go away. I said to my husband, “If giving up ice cream for the rest of my life meant no knee pain then I would do it today.”

 

2) This is where I sound vain. 😉 No matter how hard I train and how closely I watch what I eat I can’t seem to lose the rest of this weight. Before you say, “But, you always say it is all about goals and how your clothes fit….yada yada yada,” I will say you are absolutely right. I am super proud of how far I have come and no one can take that away from me. But, this is just weird. Even my husband has said, “I really think there is something else going on here than we know.” Well, a food intolerance can cause bloating and prevent you from losing fat due to the inflammation it causes. My research shows that if you drop the cause of the inflammation your body will be able to finally release that fat.

 

3) What is there to lose? Nothing. What is there to gain? Potentially tons. If I do this and find I have no intolerances then I will have had an awesome exercise in self-control and I would know that I don’t have them. Moving forward. BUT, if I do pinpoint an intolerance and I take it out of my diet then I can gain so much. I will feel better inside and out. Part of me prays there is one so that I can have an answer but we’ll just have to see.

 

I have heard of people doing this kind of elimination diet before and I thought it was just a bunch of bunk.  Yeah sure, it ‘worked’ for you.  I bet it worked because these diets require you eat nothing but real, unprocessed, whole foods.  Of course your health improved.  But, I already eat that way and something is still wrong.  It took a long time of being very stubborn but I am here now and I am READY to give this a try.

Today is DAY ONE.  And ironically I am meeting a friend for a playdate at Chick-fil-A. HA!  But, I will have my apple and almond butter in tow.

I plan to update you here on how it is going about weekly or so.  This is going to be a profound experiment with me as the guinea pig.  My husband is completely on board with me doing this and bless his heart, he’ll be the one listening to my gluten-deprived rantings.  Say a prayer for him. 😉

 

WISH ME LUCK!!

 

If you have ever done the Virgin Diet or something like it I would love to hear from you.  Tell me all about your experience and your thoughts.

The Virgin Diet and Why I am Doing it

5 thoughts on “The Virgin Diet and Why I am Doing it

Leave a Reply

