The Virgin Diet: Week One Report

I have officially completed the first week of the The Virgin Diet and I am here to report on how it is going. You can go here to read about why I am doing this and what it is exactly.

The transition to not eating gluten, dairy, eggs, soy, peanuts, corn, or sweeteners was actually a lot easier than I thought. My husband was correct in saying that it would be fairly easy because we’ve been following pretty strict nutrition plans before now anyway. So, the discipline was there.

Here is what a typical day looks like:

  • Breakfast: Gluten Free Oatmeal made with almond milk, a squirt of honey (natural sweeteners in moderation are allowed), and a dollop of almond butter.
  • Snacks: Raw veggies with homemade hummus, Apple and almond butter, homemade Larabars, etc.
  • Drinks: Black Coffee, unsweetened tea, and tons of water

How do I feel after one week?

  • There is less bloating in my core section.  Yes, that infamous pooch we all hate is getting smaller and flatter.  I am looking tighter in general.
  • I am sleeping better at night.  I usually wake up several times a night and often have to go to the couch in hopes of falling back to sleep.  This week has been a blessed time of deep slumber.
  • My energy is through the roof and consistent throughout the day.  I usually have a major crash around 2 pm or so and really struggle to keep my eyes open.  Not this week.  I just kept plowing through the day.
  • Mental clarity.  The fog was lifted.  I had no idea that I was living with so much fog and dissonance in my head.  This week has been remarkably clear.  I wish I could say I came up with an awesome invention or profound thought.  Maybe next week. I’m just happy I was able to have complete thoughts and not struggle to come up with the right words in a conversation.
  • And here’s the BIG one. NO KNEE PAIN!!!!  Time will tell if that was due to the nutrition change or the fact I didn’t exercise at all this week.  But, I was thrilled to live this week pain free.

I thought I was going to be a superhero and get through this first week with no problems or cravings.  That was the case through Saturday.  I even navigated a party with slipping up.  But, then came Sunday.  The cravings hit me like a cast iron pan.  I was so hungry for everything bad all day long.  I was eating a lot of food so I know I wasn’t technically hungry .  I even messaged a friend and said “I think I could gnaw my own arm off and fry it in buttermilk.”  It was that bad.  I kept telling myself, “Cravings are just toxins leaving the body.  I can do this. I can do this. I can do this.  Push through this hurdle and it will get better.”

Now, here I am on Tuesday and things are better.  The cravings are not nearly as bad and very manageable. Perhaps it is the routine of the week  or I am slowly conquering the cravings.

My assessment after just one week?

I feel amazing.

This isn’t quite as hard as I thought it would be (except for Sunday).

I am following this plan better than any other plan I’ve followed.  I think that has to do with the fact that I want answers for what’s ailing me.  So, I can’t mess this process up with random cheats.

Two-Three weeks of the elimination process (I *might* add an extra week on for good measure) and then I will start testing each food one at a time.

I will keep you all updated throughout the next few weeks. 🙂



PAID ENDORSEMENT DISCLOSURE: In order for me to support my blogging activities, I may receive monetary compensation or other types of remuneration for my endorsement, recommendation, testimonial and/or link to any products or services from this blog.

The Virgin Diet: Week One Report

One thought on “The Virgin Diet: Week One Report

Leave a Reply

