The Virgin Diet: Week 2 Report

Well, here we are. I have finished Week 2 of the Elimination phase of  The Virgin Diet and am going into Week 3. Feel free to look here for what the Virgin Diet is and Why I am doing it and look here for my Week One Report.
 

 
How is it going? Let’s see….

  • My energy levels continue to stay level ALL DAY LONG!
  • My clothes continue to fit better and better each day.
  • The brain fog continues to remain lifted.
  • Here is a big one.  I ran 3 miles on the treadmill (run/walk intervals) on Friday and had zero knee pain.  And then I had no knee pain later in the evening and none the next day.  WHAT?!?!?  I don’t even know what it is like to live pain-free.
  • Overall, I just feel better.
  • My cravings for bad food is almost completely gone.  I just don’t want junk anymore.  I still love my chocolate and I still love my sweets but healthier alternatives scratch that itch just fine now. I do occasionally want a good biscuit or piece of pizza but I’ve noticed that usually think about those things when I’m hungry.  If I stay on top of my eating and don’t get overly hungry much I don’t think about the other foods.

 
I have one more week of the elimination phase which is when you leave all gluten, dairy, corn, soy, eggs, artificial sweeteners, and peanuts out of your diet.  Like I said last week, I might choose to go one more week but we’ll see how that goes.

Then I will start the re-introduction phase.  I will take ONE of the seven foods and add IT to my diet once a day for four days (Monday-Thursday) and then take it back out again the last three days (Friday-Sunday).  Then start the process again on Monday with the next food.  This process is not cumulative.  So, if I choose gluten the first week and then dairy the second, I won’t keep allowing gluten the second week.  It is one food per week.  This is to set up the testing the best possible way so that you can be confident that a bad reaction is because of that particular food you reintroduced that week. Make sense?
 
What happened this week that wasn’t planned?

  • I got SICK!!  Last week my son had a terrible cold and apparently he shared it with me. It was pretty bad and I was miserable for at least two days.  That put a huge damper in my workout plans.  Amazingly, I stayed on plan despite it all.  My husband was a smart butt and made a comment to the effect of , “But, I thought the Virgin Diet fixes everything!  You can’t get sick!!”  Yeah, I do think it does fix a lot of things but it doesn’t stop viruses. LOL!
  • We went to Moe’s on Sunday while out shopping for a new bed.  I learned that Moe’s is pretty safe while eating this way.  You can get the burrito bowl (no tortilla) with the pico and the guacamole and no cheese and you can stay on plan.  I drank unsweet tea.  It was delicious and I needed to eat out.  HOWEVER, I ate a few chips!!  *GASP*  That totally violated the ‘no corn’ rule.  I probably ate ten chips.
  • Sunday night, last night, I did start having some rather profound knee pain.  I mean I woke up with it throbbing like someone was tightening a vice grip on it.  I took some Advil and went back to sleep.  I kept thinking, “What in the world could it be?  I’ve had no pain for 2 weeks and now this!!” And then I remembered I ate those chips.  Hmmmmm!  Could I have really reacted that much so quickly?  I guess it is possible.  But, I’m not 100% sure either.
  • I did have some moments of being too hungry and that put me in a bad mood.  I mean a FOUL mood.  I would eat and would be much better.  But, I know now that I have got to stay on top of my eating and my hunger levels.  I need to plan better and pack food more often and carry more water with me.  There is no reason ANYONE should have to deal with me hungry like that. 😉 And I bet I wouldn’t have eaten those chips at Moe’s if I weren’t so hungry going in there.

 
I am very happy with how things are going with The Virgin Diet.  I am convinced now of how prevalent food intolerances are and how they can affect your body.  I was very skeptical until I have felt the difference in my own body.  It really is humbling and eye-opening.  We’ll see what the re-introduction phase brings.  Whatever it does bring I am pretty convinced that I will be eating this way or some version of this way for the long haul.  I can’t go back now.

 

How about you?  Do you have any questions?  Please share your thoughts below!!!
 
 
PAID ENDORSEMENT DISCLOSURE: In order for me to support my blogging activities, I may receive monetary compensation or other types of remuneration for my endorsement, recommendation, testimonial and/or link to any products or services from this blog.

The Virgin Diet: Week 2 Report

Leave a Reply

