In Which She Admits She is Human: The Virgin Diet, Week 3 Report

The last three weeks have a been quite an experience. You can read my Week One and Week Two Reports to get caught up if you need to.

Here is what I have learned from eliminating gluten, dairy, soy, eggs, corn, artificial sweeteners, and peanuts from my diet for three weeks.

  • I do feel a lot better all over when I eat this way.  My knees hurt less or not at all.  My energy levels are high. I have almost no ‘Brain Fog.’  And I feel more tight and less bloated.
  • It is easy to eat this way at home.
  • It is not easy to eat this way when out and about.
  • I can plan for outings most of the time and eat accordingly.
  • I am most likely intolerant to something on that list.
  • I am human and I slip up.

You read that last one correctly.  I am 100% human and I have cheated.  *sigh*  I hate it but it is true.  I did eat corn chips at Moe’s like I said in my Week 2 report. I ate some crust off a pizza my husband got. (The crust is my most favorite part and it is a good arrangement we have.)  And I took my son to a Fro-Yo place for a Mommy Date.  I am kicking myself about the Fro-Yo place. …not for going but for my choices while there.  I could’ve stuck to the yogurt and topped it with fruit.  But, nooooooo!  I got candy.  It was a small serving but still. 😦

 

What have I learned from my slip-ups or cheats?

 

  • These cheats just don’t have the same appeal they used to have.
  • They don’t taste as yummy anymore.
  • I feel yucky afterwards almost 100% of the time.
  • I don’t think they are worth it anymore.
  • My cravings are not what they used to be.  I think I finally busted through that insatiable desire for sugar and now things like the candy bars at the Fro-Yo joint were honestly, gross.  WHAT?!?!
  • I do feel yucky but the repercussions are not crippling or life-threatening.  Fun?  Heck no.  But, livable.
  • I find food to be very social.
  • It is extremely hard and almost divisive when I have been in social situations and have refused food offered to me.  Reminds me of a previous post where I talked about how Food is Relationship. I just don’t know if I am willing to do that anymore.
  • It is still easy to eat this way at home when it is just me and the family.

 

Where do I go from here?

  • I will continue to eat this way at home.
  • I will continue to eat this way when I am out and about and I can plan for it.
  • I will reintroduce foods one by one to gauge my reactions.  I know I have totally messed up the chemistry of the process by having these cheats but I will do the best I can.
  • If I react to these foods at home under more scrutiny I will keep them out the best I can.  If I don’t react I will bring them back but better sources.
  • Week one of the Reintroduction phase will be dairy.  That is one reason why I didn’t feel too badly about going for Fro-Yo.  I just should’ve stuck to the fruit.  UGH!  I already know the Fro-Yo results won’t be too splendid.  I’ve always known I have an intolerance to milk.  I can’t drink milk or eat much ice cream without digestive distress.
  • I will reintroduce gluten but after that I will stick to the sourdough method of preparing bread. I already make all our own bread but I’ll change it to sourdough.  The traditional method of using sourdough makes the wheat and gluten much easier to digest by breaking it down before you eat it. I already have a sourdough starter going on my counter using this method. I can’t wait to get back to sourdough.
  • I guess you could say I’m adopting a 80/20 or a 90/10 approach to eating.  I can live with that.  I can control what I eat at home. I can control what I pack in my lunchbox.  When I am in a social situations I won’t stress it but I will still make the healthiest choices with what is available.

 

What do you think?  Am I terrible for not being 100% about this process?  I don’t know.  I wish I could’ve given you a more solid review of it all. I will say that I do believe in food intolerances now and that most people would benefit from a process like this.  It was quite eye-opening.

 

I would LOVE to hear your thoughts. 🙂

 

In Which She Admits She is Human: The Virgin Diet, Week 3 Report

One thought on “In Which She Admits She is Human: The Virgin Diet, Week 3 Report

  1. You are not terrible. I try to use the 80/20 rule with all my food choices. Good stuff 80 percent of the time! And you are right, food is definitely social. I eat more when out with friends than I normally would. You start talking and/or drinking and it’s game on!

    Like

Leave a Reply

