Hey Girl….Are You New To the Gym?

oncliff



Hey Girl….Are you new to the gym?

I saw you from the other side of the gym. I was in between sets and I saw you cautiously stepping up onto that treadmill/elliptical/bike/stepmill. I couldn’t help but take notice of you.

I’m sorry if it seems like I was staring.  I don’t want you to feel awkward or anything.

It is just that I see so much of ME in you. It makes me smile and it makes me reflect.

I remember when I was brand new in the gym.  I remember the excitement of new things coming and I remember the fear of not knowing what to do.  I remember being nervous and I remember feeling so very self-conscious.

I couldn’t believe that I had let my body get to this point.  How in the WORLD did that weight creep on?  How is it that I could barely run for 30 seconds without losing my breath?  I was once lean and athletic!  WHAT #%&* HAPPENED?!

Goodness, I remember. Honestly, it kind of hurts when I remember too.  I remember how lowly I thought of my body.  I remember how little self-esteem I had.  I had confidence in the negative numbers.  And the depression was crippling sometimes.  *sigh*

Anyway…

I do remember that there was ONE thing that got me in the gym that day. I knew I had to do SOMETHING! I had a husband and a little son to take care of when all I wanted to do was curl up in a hole.  There was just enough hope in me to know something had to change.  (I give Jesus all the credit for that mustard seed of hope.)

How are you doing?

How are you feeling?

Do you mind if I tell you something before we get back to our workouts?

Okay, good….

Please don’t give up.

You have such an awesome future ahead of you. You are awesome now and will continue to only become MORE awesome.

I know the gym is such an incredibly scary place right now.  I know you don’t know what to do or how to do it.  Your knowledge will grow over time.   And before you know it you will be walking in here with your head held up high.  You know what to do and how to do it.  Believe me.

What are your goals?

Oh, that’s a great goal!!!

Now, take that goal and write it down.  Plaster it on your bulletin board. Make a desktop picture of your goal so you see it everyday.

Please don’t give up!

Ready for some honesty??

It will get HARD!

There will be days when the last thing you want to do is go to the gym and eat right. Believe me.  I know.  Do your best to overcome these obstacles. Tell yourself you will workout for 10 minutes and if that doesn’t work you will go home. Guess what?  Most of the time that ten minutes is enough to get me motivated to finish my workout.  Try it sometime.

Eating right?  Yeah, I know.  That’s the hard part for me too.  Take it one bite at a time. You won’t completely change your diet overnight.  Well, I guess you can but most of the time you will just crash and burn. Change one habit at a time and it won’t be too long before you don’t even recognize your new lifestyle.

Just….Please….Please….PLEASE don’t give up!

Give it time.

True change TAKES TIME!!

It has taken me two and a half years to get where I am today.  It has taken almost three years of consistent training and healthy eating to get here.

I am not perfect.  Trust me!  I’ve had plenty of times of eating off plan.  I have knowingly made poor choices because I just felt lazy.  I’ve gone on vacation and stuffed my face with Cheetos and filled my belly with Coke. Yep, even me.

But, guess what?

I believe in GRACE!

Make a poor choice.  Okay.  Get back to it with your next meal.  Make a plan to get your workout tomorrow.

Move On.

Give yourself Grace and Time.  You WILL get there.

PLEASE DON’T GIVE UP!

Gosh, I’m being a bit long winded, aren’t I??  I’m sorry.  Thank you for listening.

One last thing????  I promise….

Please, for all that is holy in this world, please don’t compare yourself to others in this gym or outside this gym.

Have you heard the saying, “Comparison is the Thief of Joy.”  Well, there are no truer words.

comparison
This is YOUR body.  Those are YOUR goals.   Focus on that.  Your only competition is yourself.

Lastly, ……

PLEASE DON’T GIVE UP!!!

I’m always here and listening!

F2781D881437BD6ACBFC237C8B32809A

Hey Girl….Are You New To the Gym?

Leave a Reply

