Encouragement in Habits

 
habits
 

Life has taken a busy turn in my life right now and in many ways I welcome the energy of it. While I don’t enjoy being busy for the sake of being busy I do enjoy the sense of accomplishment that comes with a job well done. That being said I confess I wasn’t completely sure I would be able to write in the blog this week. For a split second I considered letting it go for “just this week” but I know how that goes and I don’t like it.

So, I wanted to pop on here for a quick moment and offer some encouragement to those who are starting their journey.

It has been five years since I started taking my health and fitness seriously. I have been through all kinds of seasons. Some seasons were very good and some were not so good. I had many victories and made some bad choices.

But, the one thing that sticks out to me now is the importance of habits. It is the habits that you form slowly over time that will take you to the victory lane of this journey.

I remember when I started exercising and being more intentional about what I ate that it truly seemed like I was thinking about it constantly. I felt like I was living and breathing food and exercise. I had to consider every single bite I took. I had to think about what I was eating, why I was eating it, when I was eating it, and how I was eating it. I would totally High-Five myself when I chose a piece of fruit over a sleeve of cookies. I had to go completely against my nature to put on gym clothes and move each day. At the start it was a mental battle just to get out the door and walk around the block. For weeks I promised myself I would put on gym clothes and walk and that’s it. That was so hard too.

Does it feel that way to you? It is perfectly okay if it does. I remember how hard it was to get started and to keep going.

Forming those habits is HARD work!

This is where the encouragement comes in. 🙂 While forming those habits is indeed hard work, I want you to know that with consistent effort those habits do form and making your health and fitness a priority goes on auto-pilot.

I could go on and on and on and on about how habits are formed and how you can implement them into your life and I will probably do that in the near future. But, today I just wanted to pop on here today to let you know that it DOES happen.

Consistency with Habits = Habits Formed

Five years later, my habits are more or less formed. I am always working on improving but the basic habits are firmly in place. Getting quality movement each day is not a mental struggle anymore. It is an assumed part of my day. When at first exercise felt like an intrusion into my day it is now an essential part of my day and not exercising feels like an intrusion.

My pantry is completely different than it used to be and the same goes with my fridge. When at first it took a lot of mental energy to choose to buy the apples and not the cookies that is not the case anymore. I can walk right on through the cookie aisle and not even look at them. Do I eat cookies? I sure do but not nearly as often as I used to. They are a treat instead of a staple.

I ended up writing more than I thought I was going to today but that’s okay, right?

The main point I want to get across is to encourage you as you are forming those habits. It can seem so hard at the start and in many ways it is hard. It takes a lot of mental energy to choose something that goes against your current habits.

But, with each habit-forming choice you make you are moving down the path to when it won’t take so much energy. If you stay consistent there WILL be a day when daily movement and good nutrition are just parts of your day and you won’t have to think about it.

Before I leave, please remember that you must give yourself grace on this journey. No, you will not get it right every day. Success is not a straight line. It is an all jumbled up line that slowly makes its way upwards over time.
 
7d9c90ddf20c2c675b027226192ccac6
 

You WILL get there.

BLESSINGS!
 

F2781D881437BD6ACBFC237C8B32809A

Encouragement in Habits

Leave a Reply

