The Five Why’s

the five why's1
When you are starting down the road of your health and fitness journey it can be so easy to be motivated and inspired. It is easy to get out the door to the gym, to prep your meals, and to plan for your new healthy lifestyle.

But, we all know full well that the day will come, and it WILL come, when life gets in the way. What will you do when life is hard and the motivation is waning?

It is then that it is so important to know your WHY.

What is your WHY?

You WHY is the reason that you are starting this journey. It is the deep down reason that stirs within your soul. I have heard someone say it is “the WHY that makes you CRY.”

Did you doctor say you are one heart attack away from the grave?

Do you want to improve your health so you can expand your little family?

Do want to be able to keep up with your active kids?

Do you want to grow old with your soul mate?

Or do you just want to feel better in body and mind?

Whatever the case is for YOU, there is a process you can follow to help you find your WHY.

It is called the ‘5 Why’s.’

This is a very simple but very effective exercise for getting to the root of WHY you want something.

When you want to accomplish something (or if something goes wrong), you ask one why.

Why do I want to accomplish this?

Then, with whatever answer you come up with, you ask why to that first answer.

And so on, five times.

Here’s an example:

Why am I on this journey?
I want to lose fat.

Why do I want to lose fat?

Because I want to fit into a smaller size of pants.

But why do I want to fit into a smaller size of pants?

Because when I’m wearing smaller pants, I think I’ll look better.

But why do I want to look better?
Because when I look good, I feel good about myself.

But why do I want to feel good about myself?
Because when I feel good about myself, I’m more assertive and confident.

But why do I want to be more assertive and confident?

Because when I’m more assertive and confident, I’m in control and better able to get what I want out of life.

 

See how that works? Once you have found the most important reason, your WHY, for doing something you will have it on the days when you need to be reminded so you can keep going.

Knowing where you want to go — and being able to see it clearly — can help you get there better and faster.

What are your Five Why’s??

F2781D881437BD6ACBFC237C8B32809A

 

The Five Why’s

Leave a Reply

